Woman Chronicles Weight Loss in Dressing Room Photos

2013-01-26 09:22

 She documented all of it in the bright lights of a store fitting room. wedding rings And the results are amazing. Take a look. This was julia kozerski, right after her wedding day. And remarkably, this is also julia kozerski, one year and 160 pounds later. It's unbelievable for me to think about where I am right now and think about who I was at that time. Reporter: Kozerski says she was inspired to make a lifestyle change after getting married. But it's how she chose to document her transformation that's inspiring other women. I decided to take the images, while I was in a fitting room. Reporter: That's right. Kozerski photographed each step of her weight loss in fitting rooms, a place women often confront their body issues head-on, staring into unflattering mirrors, under those harsh, harsh lights. The photos were something i could keep with me as a reference. I  would flip through them and look at the picture and say, do I want to go backwards? Go forwards? Reporter: Kozerski photographed her journey while studying art at the milwaukee institute of art and design. Turning her loss into an art project. An online exhibit called "changing room." Where she explored her changing identity as her weight dropped. From casual wear, to ball gowns, even sexy cocktail dresses, kozerski captured herself in 200 different outfits. Showing both physical and emotional changes she endured through the unfiltered lens of her smartphone. I made this work for myself personally. Reporter: That all changed after she posted a shot of her stretch mark and posted it on the wall. I had an outpouring of support. My classmates wanted to know more. Reporter: She says she hopes her personal weight loss journey will inspire others. It's about being happy with yourself, no matter what size, what weight you're at. Reporter: Really inspirational blue wedding shoes . And kozerski says she took the process, just ten pounds at a time. Though she occasionally slips up, she uses the pictures to get back on track. We can do that, too. I love that story. You know what I love?